How To Stop Instagram From Saving Posts To Camera Roll 2023

It can be so annoying to find your gallery filled with posts from my Instagram, it can even be more annoying when you don’t know how to go about stopping it. Instagram is one of the best photo sharing gallery applications worldwide. You can create an Instagram account and start sharing your pictures and videos on the platform.

There are two ways to share a post on Instagram “capturing the photo or video from an Instagram camera” or “uploading an existing photo or video from the gallery of your mobile phone”

As soon as your Instagram post is uploaded, another version will be saved automatically to your camera roll especially when you post a whole bunch of pictures only to find them piled in your camera roll. Regular Instagram users can tell. Especially when you are low on space, fortunately you can stop it.

If you are wondering how to stop Instagram from saving posts to your camera roll? You are at the right place.

How To Stop Instagram From Saving Posts To Camera Roll?

 

In this guide, we are going to take a look at multiple ways to stop Instagram from saving posts to camera roll.

  • Toggle off Save Original Photos on Android/ iPhone.
  • Disable Auto saving Pictures on Instagram for iPhone.
  • Clear History On Instagram.

We will discuss each of these in details below 

Toggle off Save Original Photos on Android/iPhone.

  • Log in into Instagram
  • Tap on Profile in the lower right. This is the icon with your profile picture in it.
  • Click on the triple-line in the upper right corner of the profile.
  • Tap on Settings in the options.
  • Select Account.
  • Tap Original Photos.
  • Toggle off Original Photos. It should go from Green to White.

New uploads won’t be saved to your camera roll any longer when toggled off, but if you so wish to autosave your photos and videos to your camera roll,you can turn the setting on.

Disable Auto Saving Posts On Instagram For Iphone

You also have the option to disable photo permissions. When you turn off Save Original Photos, any pictures taken with the app camera will not be saved to your camera roll but will get deleted.

However the original version will stay on your camera hard drive once you have posted it. If you don’t want the initial photo saving option to be used any longer.

To disable Photo permissions:

  • Open the Settings app on your iOS device.
  • Find Instagram and toggle the switch off

Clear History On Instagram/ Don’t post on Instagram

 

Currently, Instagram is undisputably taking the lead amidst other social media apps, with more than a billion users.

Fortunately, Instagram is not the only social media app you can use. To avoid Instagram saving your posts to your camera roll, you can try other apps like; Unsplash, Dribble, Yummy and lots more. In your profile, there are 3 horizontal lines at the right corner of the profile. From there, click Settings, Scroll down and tap on Clear History

All the pictures and videos you have posted on your Instagram account will be deleted, by doing so you can stop Instagram from Auto saving old and newly uploaded posts to your camera roll.

Why Does Instagram Save Photos to My Phone?

 

You might be wondering why should Instagram save the posts to your phone in the first instance. Well it happens because you have Original Photos enabled, the pictures and videos you post on Instagram won’t get saved to your device camera roll if you disable the Save Original Photos option on the app.

iOS  device users can choose which applications can access the photos stored on their phone. Fortunately, the privacy settings enables the user to exercise control over which particular application is permitted to pull images from the Photos app and the Camera roll.

In addition to whether or not the app is allowed to save new pictures to the phone’s storage device space. So if Instagram saves pictures automatically to your camera roll, that means  that you allowed it to, while signing for the app.

How Do I stop Instagram from saving my stories?

 

To stop Instagram from saving your stories, it’s almost the same as the previous ones. All you have to do is;

Log in to Instagram.

  • Click on the 3 horizontal lines in your profile.
  • From there, click on Settings.
  • Here, select Story Settings.
  • From there disable the toggle that says Save Story.

How do you automatically save photos or videos of other users from Instagram to your camera roll?

 

You might see a recipe or style posted by other users that you would love to make reference to/ try out and you don’t know how to save videos or photos of other users, this might help.

There is actually no definite way to do this. Some people use third party apps while others use manual workarounds. But you can try the following suggestions.

  • Use an app like InstaSave or InstaLoader to automatically save photos from Instagram to your camera roll.
  • Use a service like IFTTT to create a recipe that will save photos and videos of other users from Instagram to your camera roll. 

How to download Instagram pictures through a copy URL?

 

Do you know you can download Instagram pictures through a copy URL? I bet you didn’t, But the below will teach you how to do that:

  • Log in to Instagram.
  • Find the photo you want to save.
  • Tap the “…” at the top corner of the post.
  • Tap on Copy Link

Open your browser, hold and press Paste and go Press and hold the photo, then select Copy. Open the Notes app. In a new note, press and hold your screen.

Read More:

Conclusion

 

Each photo or video uploaded on Instagram saves on your camera roll if you have saved original photos switched on in your Instagram settings, and if you do not want it, you can do yourself good by switching it off as you have been taught. It is a choice. Instagram has made it clear that they have access to images captured by Instagram cameras because you allowed it.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *